Baseball Writers, take note:

I hate to jinx anything with the Red Sox, but Josh Beckett is going to be the first Boston pitcher to win the Cy Young Award since Pedro Martinez.

After a disappointing first year in the American League last year, Beckett has come back to have the most successful season of his seven year career. He is the Major League leader in wins with 18 and is limiting hitters to a .245 batting average. He has turned into the prototypical power pitcher out of the same mold as Nolan Ryan and Roger Clemens.

Pitchers Dan Haren and Johan Santana are going to be Beckett’s strongest competition for the award. Both are the aces of their staffs. Both are in the top 5 in the American League in both ERA and WHIP. But what the Baseball Writers Association of America has to consider is that both of their teams have been out of the playoff race for the past six weeks. Meanwhile, Beckett has been pitching in a pressure cooker since opening day. Every game is a playoff game when you play in Boston.

With his fiery attitude and assaults on the team’s water cooler after a disappointing inning, Beckett has shown that he is ready to be the big-game pitcher the Red Sox hoped for when they traded for him. Let’s hope he is recognized for his efforts.

2 Responses to “Baseball Writers, take note:”

  1. soucy Says:

    What about C.C. Sabathia? He has 17 wins, a 3.15 era (lower than JB) and about 30 more innings pitched this year. With the indians in just as tuff as a divison if not tougher. How is he not his toughest competition?

  2. Dave Says:

    You’re absolutely right. Sabathia is having a great year, in a really tough division. I overlooked him. I’m hoping the Sox avoid Cleveland in the playoffs this year. They could be really tough.
    I appreciate your comments.

Leave a Reply